cheeky quickie

Hey, just a short post today. It’s been busy – work and then something amazing which you will hear all about tomorrow. It’s worth the wait, trust me.

So today, I learnt – or re-learnt – the amazing power of small things to bring about happiness. I work at a cafe where the owner, my boss (best boss ever, just by the way) makes all the pastries and cakes. We had someone buy quite a few little coffee scrolls, which are choux pastry crescents cut in half and filled with coffee flavoured pastry cream and drizzled with icing and chocolate. One of them lost its topping so, being the only ones left (it was almost closing time and there aren’t many people around at that time in January on a Wednesday) my boss and I split it. I haven’t been there for too long so it was the first time I’d tasted it.

It was mind-blowing. For someone who’d just been working six and a half hours on her feet (for those who work in hospitality, you know what I mean) and who was aching to go home and put her feet up, it was the most amazing thing ever. And it put a smile on my face for the rest of the day.

And so today is dedicated to the up-ticks that make the world better, when there are so many large things trying to bring it down. It doesn’t take much to make someone smile. So go do it already!

Leave a Reply

