money, money, money

Money makes the world go round. Or so they say.

(Who is this ‘they’, anyway? ‘They’ seem to say a lot of things. Most of it negative. Anyway, I digress.)

I hate money. At the same time, I love money. It all depends on how much of it you have, I suppose. When you’re in debt and scraping by, it mocks you and spits in your face, letting you scoop up the crumbs from its table. When you’re rolling in it, you sit at that table – but money still mocks, because it knows you’re eating empty hope. If you rely on it, it will let you down. If you love it, you spiral into loneliness and deceit. If you hate it, you still have to use it, because money kinda does make things happen. Food, for instance. A roof over your head, fuel in your car, textbooks, transport, entertainment.

Some people have no money. Some people live on less than $2 a day, and that’s for everything. Food, housing, medical, education, transport, water – basic needs. On less than $2 a day.

I’m in the top 14% of the world’s richest. Top 14%, and I’m a uni student scraping by. How does this compare? So I decided to live on less than $2 a day for my food for a week. And you know me by now. You know I love me some food. I’m doing it to raise money for critical anti-poverty measures and to raise awareness in one of the richest countries in the world. If you want to donate, click here. If not, I completely understand. After all, there are so many good causes out there.

Don’t worry over money. Think about it, budget, plan and save, but don’t worry about it. Because it will all be alright in the end. If it’s not alright, it’s not the end. Something always happens, and as the saying goes, the best things in life are free. Smiles, laughter, hugs and friendship. Seek out God, and he will answer – for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. Place your treasure where your heart will be safe – in God’s loving embrace.

Leave a Reply

