cappucino cookies

Remember that cookie bender I went on a few weeks ago? Well, it’s back. The cookie craving, I mean.

Last week, I had so many (SO MANY) recipes I wanted to make and I couldn’t, because people in Third World countries can’t make cookies whenever they want. Also, it would have been WAAAY too hard to resist licking the bowl.

Especially when this dough is in there. Forget licking the bowl, after this has been in the fridge a little while, I suspect even YOU won’t be able to resist. It’s kinda like cappuccino flavoured ice cream, but in cookie dough form.

Yes. I went there. The only thing I would add (apart from MORE white chocolate than is already in it) is some DARK chocolate to go with it. That topping on a cappucino is oh-so-sweet and creamy and delicious…

Wow. I may be going too far now. I haven’t had dinner yet and I HAVE to eat dinner tonight before I go all cookie-licious. Mmm-mmm…

I got this recipe from Joy at Joy the Baker. Like Joy, in the winter (which it is now) when it’s raining (which it was when I made these) I like to make cookies. They’re the best comfort food. Curling up on the couch with a cookie and a hot chocolate in front of a roaring fire = happiness.

Now make these. For you.

Cappuccino Cookies

Adapted from Joy the Baker

Makes about 36

250g unsalted butter, very soft

1 1/2 cups raw sugar

2 large eggs

2 1/4 cup plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons instant espresso or coffee powder (I used instant

1 cup white chocolate, chopped finely (Joy suggests chunks. I liked the little slivers. You decide.)

Place racks in the center and upper third of the oven and line two baking sheets with baking paper. Set aside.

Whisk together together butter and sugar. Add the eggs and whisk well. Dump all the dry ingredients into the bowl.  Mix with a spatula, using your hands at the end if it gets a little difficult (I had a silicone spatula and it just kept bending back on itself. Add chocolate and fold in until throughout. Cover the dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 45 minutes.

Just before you’re ready to bake the cookies, preheat the oven to 180ºC.

Shape tablespoons of dough into balls and set about three centimetres apart on the baking sheets.  Bake for 12-15 minutes, until lightly browned around the edges.  Remove from the oven, allow to cool on the baking sheet for about 10 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.  Store cookies in an airtight container.  Cookies will last several days, if you’re lucky.

Leave a Reply

