snickerdoodles, revisited

I like a clean kitchen. I like a clean environment in general, actually. My parents are probably reading this (hi, mum and dad!) and thinking, who are you, hijacking my daughter’s blog like this? Because when I was younger, my room was always the messiest in the house and I hated doing dishes. One of my official jobs was cooking recess food (cookies, muffins, etc.) for everyone and my mum used to say I could leave the dishes for her to do. I think mostly that was because otherwise I wouldn’t start.

BUT especially since I moved out of home, I’ve really appreciated a clean kitchen. I’ve realised (to my mum’s non surprise, I’m sure) that it’s so much better to cook in an already clean kitchen. Then, it’s easier to clean as you go, and everyone’s happy! Especially when you live in a house with other people.

I’ve also realised that the tidiness of my room reflects and is based on the state of my life. For instance, over the past few months, my room has been super messy. I’ve been distracted and everything’s been hectic, what with uni, assignments and studying, work, and trying to keep my head above water, eat well and sleep properly.

It’s been weird. Good, bad, in between, but things are getting better, looking up. Especially since I’ve been baking more. So here’s a recipe that’ll help many a bad mood and down day. It warms you up when it’s wet and cold outside and it’s perfect to have a few with a cup of chai, because although they are snickerdoodles, which are pretty damn awesome on their own, they are chai spiced snickerdoodles, which are even better.

I love snickerdoodles. So when bake me away‘s Jessica posted about these (and Pioneer Woman Ree Drummond featured them on her Web Awesomeness weekly post) I HAD to try them. Had to. I really had no choice. None whatsoever.

Plus, my housemates deserve cookies. Just ‘cos they’re awesome.

Chai Spiced Snickerdoodles

Adapted from Bake Me Away

Spice Mix:

2 tsp ground cinnamon

2 tsp ground ginger

2 tsp ground cloves

2 1/4 tsp ground cardamom

1/3 cup sugar

Combine and set aside.

Cookies:

2 3/4 cups plain flour

3 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

250g butter

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 large eggs

Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs one by one, beating each in well. Scrape down the bowl.

Add half the flour and the baking powder and mix until almost incorporated. Add the rest of the flour, the salt and two tablespoons of the spice mix. (For extra spiciness, and I’ll probably try this next time, is don’t add the sugar into the spice mix. Add in two teaspoons of the spice mix without the sugar, then mix the sugar in at this point.)

Mix until just incorporated. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate about half an hour (I kept it in the fridge overnight, then left it out about half an hour.)

Form into golfball sized balls (I got eighteen) and roll in the spice-and-sugar mix. Bake about twenty minutes in a 180º oven. Let cool on a rack and try not to eat them all before your housemates get any.

Leave a Reply

