spring salad

Real Life: I had salad for lunch AND dinner today.

It’s true. And it was delicious.

I’ve gotten into the habit of making myself a salad for lunch at work. I work at a cafe, so we get lunches for free and we make them ourselves. (That’s why I don’t have a picture of my lunch salad. I ate it at work. It was really good.)

It is going to be the summer of salads. I can feel it.

And juice. I made juice. Apple and pineapple and mint juice. De-licious.

So what’s in this spring salad? Huh? What are those delicious looking things in there I can see?

Asparagus. GIANT asparagus.

Beans and snowpeas and sugar snap peas. (Soon, I’ll be able to pick my own snowpeas and beans and peas from my own garden. How exciting is that?!?!)

Potatoes.

Pickled spring onions.

Broccoli, from the garden. From. The. Garden.

Baby spinach. It’s a thing.

Delicious Dressing.

Parsley, sprinkled on top. (from the garden. The GARDEN!) Also, some poached eggs that I overdid. Ignore that part, yeah? (I may have been rushing just a little.)

Poached eggs are great on salad.

Make salad.

Spring Salad

Adapted liberally from Smitten Kitchen

I took this recipe and I pretty much did my own thing with it. Radishes? Nah. Broccoli? From the garden? Hell yes. Poached egg on top? Please. But don’t overdo it next time, kay?
So the recipe is not exact, exactly. But it served five people for dinner with leftovers, so it’s hearty and good.

1 kg potatoes (I used what they called “cocktail potatoes” from the fruit and veg market. Try and get new potatoes if you can), roughly chopped

2 bunches asparagus, sliced into inch-long batons

200g sugar snap peas, sliced into inch-long batons

200g snowpeas, sliced into inch-long batons

200g green beans (or butterbeans), sliced into inch-long batons

200g baby spinach, washed

small handful broccoli, in bite-size pieces

For the pickled spring onions:

1/2 bunch spring onions

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup white wine vinegar

3/4 tbsp salt

1 1/2 tsp sugar

For the viniagrette

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tbsp wholegrain mustard

2 tsp dijon mustard

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Place potatoes in a large saucepan and cover with water. Bring to the boil and cook about 15 minutes, until a sharp knife can easily pierce the skin.

Meanwhile, whisk together the white wine vinegar, water, sugar and salt for the pickled spring onions. Slice the white and pale green parts of the spring onions into thin coins and place in the pickling mixture. Cover and set aside. [This can be done up to a day in advance. Keep it in the refrigerator].

Take the potatoes out of the boiling water and cover with cold water to cool them down. Refill the saucepan with salted water and bring to the boil.* Place broccoli and asparagus in once it’s boiled. After a minute, add the beans, sugar snap and snow peas. Get a large bowl and fill it with ice water. Once the beans and peas have been in the water for 2 minutes, drain them and put the vegies in the ice water. Drain.

Toss together broccoli, asparagus, beans, snowpeas, sugar snap peas, potatoes and baby spinach.

Place dressing ingredients in a jar and shake vigorously. Toss gently through the salad. Sprinkle the pickled spring onions over and some fresh parsley, if you have it. Serve.

*It is at this point you may want to poach some eggs to place on top of your salad. I recommend it, although DON’T OVERCOOK THE EGGS. That is all.

Leave a Reply

