yoyos

At the moment I am currently sitting relaxing in the sun in Perth after a week of gorgeous sun, surf and hanging out with my amazing family. It doesn’t get much better than this.

I had to work on Christmas Eve and so I took a late flight from Melbourne to Perth and arrived there at about ten o’clock at night, just in time to say hello to everyone and then go to midnight mass at the local church. Exhausted but ecstatic at finally a) having holidays, two weeks strictly for relaxing and hanging out (and having beautiful nails!) and b) being with my family. My cousins number ten kids and we have five, so we never got to see each other much when we were growing up. The last time I was in Perth I was ten years old. The last time all my cousins came to Victoria was not exactly for a joyous occasion.

The first hug I got from my aunty nearly squeezed the life out of me, she was so happy to see me. So it’s been a good week thus far since Christmas, you know?

I have to say, I haven’t really given much thought to specifically New Year’s. It’s not a huge thing in my family, although I have had some awesome New Year’s celebrations in the past. For this blog, though, it’s a pretty big anniversary – One year of cut the cookie goes by as we head into the new year and it’s really exciting to have this milestone.

I’ve made countless cookies, learnt how to not kill my housemates when the kitchen’s still in a mess and I want to bake something, that food blogs kinda need photos but those photos don’t necessarily have to come from a fancy-schmancy camera. That it doesn’t matter if no one reads my blog. Although I love you guys who do.

That a blog is work, and you should possibly only continue it if you love it. And I love it.

I made more kerstkrantjes to bring, too. They were a major hit.

I love putting my thoughts out there for people to read (or not read). I love cooking food and making it look pretty and taking photos of it. I love trawling the internet and making friends with people in the communities here.

My year was a bit up and down, so yoyos are a pretty perfect metaphor. They’re called melting moments here in Perth but we just call them delicious. I baked approximately seven ice cream containers full of cookies to bring to share and these ones are really good for that. Sharing.

Make them small, or otherwise pull them apart and give one half to a friend. Don’t forget they’re in the oven while you’re baking them and make sure one of your relatives doesn’t hog all the cookies. Wrap them up pretty and bring them to a party, or wrap them up in serviettes and pack them in ice cream containers to fly them halfway across the country for your relatives.

Yoyos

Adapted from BestRecipes

370g unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup icing sugar

1 cup custard powder

3 cups plain flour

pinch salt to taste

Filling:

1 cup icing sugar

60 g unsalted butter, room temperature

3 teaspoons custard powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

salt to taste

Preheat oven to 170°Celsius. Line two large baking trays with baking paper and set aside.

Cream butter and sugar together. Add salt. Sift in flour and custard powder and mix until just combined.

Roll mixture (it’ll be a little sticky) into small balls, about the size of a ten cent piece. Lay out on the baking trays about an inch or two apart. Gently flatten each with a fork.

Bake about fifteen minutes, rotating at the halfway point. Let cool on the trays while you make the filling.

Sift the icing sugar into the butter. Cream together, then add the custard and salt and vanilla. Mix together.

Fill as many yoyos as you need – after about a week they’ll get soggy. I like to pipe the filling in but you don’t need to, you can just scoop it onto one cookie and then squash with the other. I like to make the tine marks from the forks line up with each other. Remember to only fill one half of the cookies because you’ll squash them together.

Leave a Reply

