the b side

I feel like I have writer’s block.

I don’t know what to say to you guys anymore. 

I sit down to write a blog post and my mind comes up blank. Why? Why this sudden drought of words? I’m never lost for words.

My housemate thinks I should write about her. Hi! I’m writing about you! We drink lots of tea and she eats the cookies that I make. She wants me to do her homework for her and I want her to do all of my dishes.

To be fair, she does sometimes do my dishes. But I often bake for her so it all works out.

I’ve been pretty busy lately actually. Training for this RUN (eep!) baking a lot (you will get to see the fruits of my labours, I promise. Soon.) There have been quite a few birthday parties recently, too. 21, it’s a big year.

I’ve been watching a lot of Buffy and Angel as well, yes. It’s fun! Action, drama, teen angst. So much angst. Buffy, why can’t you just be happy?

So here. Have a brain dump to go with your pancakes. They’re pretty good with or without the over-analyzing, don’t worry. They’ll also stand up to some tweaking. Like, say, if you don’t feel like having bourbon for breakfast (who are you?) or maybe you have some blueberries lying around (although I don’t really know anyone who has that problem, either.) White flour is a perfectly acceptable substitute for buckwheat if you don’t feel like tricking yourself into eating something vaguely healthy. Have fun with them. Eat them in the sun, if you can.

Buckwheat Buttermilk Banana Pancakes

Inspired by Joy the Baker

170 g buckwheat flour

40 g sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 egg

30 g butter, melted

1 cup buttermilk

1 overripe banana, mashed

30 ml bourbon

1 tsp vanilla extract

In a medium bowl, whisk together dry ingredients and make a well in the middle.

In a separate bowl, mash the banana and whisk in the egg, butter and buttermilk. Stir into the dry ingredients. Lastly, stir in the vanilla and bourbon, to taste. (No bourbon means a slightly less runny mixture, but it will still make beautiful pancakes.) Refrigerate for half an hour.

Heat frypan to high heat and then lower the temperature. Melt a small amount of butter in the pan and scoop about a quarter cup of pancake batter  into the pan. When it starts to bubble on top, it’s probably right to flip it over. It only needs about half the time on the other side. The pancakes should be caramel coloured on both sides.

Serve with butter and maple syrup. Or maybe organic honey and natural peanut butter. Mmmm.

Leave a Reply

