buttermilk scones

I have been moving around a lot lately, I think I’ve mentioned it before. I counted recently and if you count all the times I’ve moved in the last three years, I’ve moved twelve times in the last three years.

Twelve.

Twelve is a lot of times. Twelve moves is twenty four cars packed forty eight times. Twelve moves is twelve times I’ve forgotten little pieces of my life, bits of me scattered all over eastern Victoria.

Twelve moves is twelve times I’ve had to say goodbye.

Now, it’s true that I’ve not had to say goodbye forever – in this modern age, with cars and planes and automobiles (and letters, and email, and facebook, too) but living with people means you form a relationship with those people, and moving away changes that relationship. Especially if you began the relationship when you moved in with those people.

Twelve is also a lot of times to start fresh with new people and a new environment. I’ve shared rooms and houses with many different types of people and it’s been one hell of a learning curve. This time around, I decided to have a miniature kind of room-warming gathering, with a few people who live close by, to celebrate my move to a stable home environment (that sounds like I’ve been in dysfunctional houses, doesn’t it…) and to celebrate that most magical of beverages, tea.

With scones. And jam and cream, of course. Part of the reason to have a party in the first place was because we have an abundance of jam. Plum jam, raspberry jam, peach conserve, strawberry jam.

I made these buttermilk scones with self-raising flour. I usually don’t keep self-raising flour around but it’s useful if you want to make scones and they’re much easier this way. However, many bakers (myself included) are a little bit control freaky and so don’t like store bought self-raising flour because who knows what’s in there?

Solution? Make your own self raising flour! And then use it to make scones. And then invite your friends over for a tea party. With jam and cream.

Self Raising Flour

Mix 150 g with 2 tsp baking powder or with 1 tsp cream of tartar and 1/2 tsp bi carb soda

Buttermilk Scones

Adapted from Scones and Muffins

Can I just say, this book is, weirdly, one of the recipe books that always makes me want to make the things in it. I say weirdly because it’s a “step-by-step” cookbook, in a series. It’s just got great basics with enticing photos of every recipe and it just makes me drool. Mmm.

2 cups self-raising flour

pinch salt

30 g (2 tbsp) butter, cool

1 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 210°Celsius or 400°Fahrenheit. Line a baking tray with baking paper and set aside.

Sift flour and salt into a bowl. Rub in the butter using your fingertips. Work quickly – you don’t want the butter to be warm when you put them in the oven.

Make a well in the centre of the mixture and add in the buttermilk. Stir together with a butter or other flat-bladed knife. On a lightly floured surface, gather together the dough with your hands and pat into an inch thick round. Use scone cutters to make round scones or slice into wedges.

For soft-sided scones, crowd the scones together on the tray so that their sides are touching. Brush with a little milk and bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. For crisp sided scones, leave some room around each scone on the tray.

Serve with jam and cream.

Leave a Reply

