gluten free snickerdoodles

tea and cookies

I am currently flying in a plane over Australia. Well, ok, not ACTUALLY RIGHT NOW flying. I am flying as I write this, so by the time you read it I will definitely have been on the ground for a while. But hey. I am flying.

piled

It’s a pretty amazing thing, flight. Humans have figured out how to subvert the natural impulses of our species, which is to stay on the ground where it’s (ostensibly) safe. Where we know what’s what. Where we know what is going on.

christmas table

And we voluntarily choose to launch ourselves in oversized tin cans across the country or even across the world, putting ourselves in the hands of a few very talented people. Ok, quite a few talented people.

close up

I love to fly, if only because it looks pretty awesome to have on your to do list for the day:

Breakfast

Pack

Say goodbye

Get to the airport

Fly.

I get to fly. I don’t think we appreciate the little miracles enough in our day to day, and I think it’s super important.

on a plate

Like the little miracle that five different ground up plants can come together to make a biscuit that someone who can’t eat one plant matter (read: wheat/gluten [and yes I know that gluten is not only in wheat]) can instead have FIVE and it will taste not only almost the same but maybe even better.

four

Yep. Gluten free snickerdoodles are the bomb. Mostly because I know quite a few people who have to eat gluten free, and I love being able to share food with them and know that I’d be happy to eat the same thing.

one

Christmas is about the little miracles. Someone catching a flight they otherwise wouldn’t have. A surprise guest. Finally getting to trim the tree. (Prettiest tree in Melbourne.) Hot chocolate and Love Actually.

IMG_1467

Merry Christmas.

Gluten Free Snickerdoodles

Adapted from Eat the Love

This was really my first foray into gluten-free baking, and so I was determined not to change too much in the recipe but of course I can’t help tweaking. I used all butter instead of half butter and half shortening. I used red sorghum flour because that’s what I could find. I couldn’t find a packet that read “superfine” white rice flour but the one I used seemed to go fine. I swapped out tapioca flour for potato flour because I couldn’t find tapioca flour. This all worked and mostly I believe this is because I listened to Shauna of Gluten Free Girl, who knows her gluten free baking. Head over there for fantastic writing, as well as a fount of knowledge and recipes.

3 tbsp sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

250 g butter, not quite room temperature

340 g granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 egg yolk

2 tsp cream of tartar

1 ts baking soda

1/2 tsp kosher salt (3/4 tsp regular table salt)

1 tsp xantham gum

150 g red sorghum flour

175 g white rice flour

180 g millet flour

85 g potato flour

2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350°Fahrenheit or 180°Celsius and line two baking trays with baking paper.

Mix the 3 tbsp sugar with the 1 tsp cinnamon and set aside.

Beat the butter until it’s light and smooth. Add the sugar and beat until fluffy, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then the vanilla.

Add the cream of tartar, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and xantham gum and beat well.

Sift in the flours and beat until smooth, again scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.

Refrigerate for 30 minutes. Roll balls approx 1″ in diameter and space about 2″ apart on the trays. Bake for about 12 minutes, until they are lightly browned and the tops start to crack a little. Cool five minutes on tray, then on a rack until completely cool.

Best eaten immediately, or the day after they are made.

Leave a Reply

