mint julep

literary drinking

This is really just my excuse to rant about The Great Gatsby [the movie] before it comes out. That way, I’ve got my ranting out of the way and I can just enjoy the movie when I actually go and see it, right?

Right. So, first up, I’m really excited about this movie. I know I’ve only read the book really recently (forgive me for not living in the US of A and being made to read it during an English class where I’ll be made to answer all the questions because no one else can be bothered to do the work and therefore hating it for the rest of forever because of all the negative associations) but I seriously feel an affinity with this book that means I will read it every year for the rest of my life. Or at least at regular intervals. The book is basically where the kings of metaphors hang out so getting to see those mind pictures in real life as depicted by Baz Luhrman has already made me into a tiny squealing fangirl more than once and I’ve only seen the previews.

However, there are some parts I’m worried about.

Carey Mulligan? YES. Leonardo DiCaprio? YES. Fo’ sho. Tobey Maguire? Well, I disliked him in Spiderman but then I never felt like he was hot enough to be the star of not one but three superhero movies – he did the nerd part much better than the transformed Spidey. Leave the nerd-to-hot transformations to Anne Hathaway, my friend. However, I think he’s just about right for the narrator who is not the actual star of the show. Sorry, Nick Care-away, but we all know it.

I love the feeling of the movie – well, as much as I can tell its vibe from the previews – but I just hope Luhrman does the story justice. The terrible tragedy of the American Dream, rotting away from the inside. The desperate, hopeless life of one who has everything except the one who will make it all worthwhile. The dirty underbelly of human life, of rich human life.

mint julep and f. scott fitzgerald

Mint Julep

There are many many many recipes for this drink all over the internet. This is the one I love.

short heavy glass

lots of ice

teaspoon sugar

splash water

five or six mint leaves

bourbon

tear the mint into raggedy small bits. muddle the mint and sugar in the water in the bottom of your glass. add ice to fill the glass and top with bourbon. drink, and feel sophisticated.

Leave a Reply

