chocolate fudge cupcakes with salted caramel buttercream

cupcakes and punch

Clearly, I have a problem.

No, I’m not talking about my addiction to Doctor Who t-shirts or my extreme nitpickiness when it comes to the care of books. I’m not even talking about my complete inability to ignore the inappropriate possessive apostrophe in “it’s”. People, get it right: if it is a contraction of “it is”, then it needs an apostrophe. If it is not a contraction of “it is” then it does not need an apostrophe. 

This problem has to do with cupcakes. We all know how much I love cupcakes, but did you realise that I have a total of way too many chocolate cupcake recipes on this blog?

eat the cupcake

cupcakes

We’ve got vegan, flourless, red velvet and a whole host of just chocolate cupcakes here; however, every time I make chocolate cupcakes, I reach for a new recipe. It’s not that I don’t like every recipe on the blog – I wouldn’t post it if I didn’t. But there are so many recipes out there, I can’t help myself. I want to try them all.

birthday girl

champagne and cupcakes

This recipe comes from the Joy the Baker cookbook, my current go-to for all sorts of comfort food and sweet baked goods. My long-time friend and surrogate big sister had a milestone birthday yesterday and I was called upon to provide munchies for her party. I’ll definitely be blogging about the cute and full-of-fun piñata cake (with boozy buttercream!) but for the moment, let’s focus on the cupcakes.

The original recipe is for a sheet cake, but Leah loves cupcakes, so I made them adorable and single-serving, with a delicious salted caramel buttercream and colourful chocolate chips on top, a throw-back to our childhood parties and their fairy bread and balloons.

roses and cupcakes

Chocolate Fudge Cupcakes

Adapted from Joy the Baker Cookbook

Makes 18 cupcakes

226 g unsalted butter, melted

5 tablespoons cocoa powder

250 ml hot coffee

2 cups plain flour

2 cups white sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup sour cream

Preheat oven to 350°F/180°C and line two muffin trays with paper liners.

Mix together the butter, cocoa and coffee in a small bowl. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt. Carefully pour in the coffee mixture and fold in until almost incorporated. Whisk in the eggs, vanilla and sour cream.

Divide the mixture between 18 cases. I used a 1/3 cup measuring cup and the paper liners were about 2/3 full.

Bake in the preheated oven for about 20 minutes. Let cool completely before frosting with Salted Caramel Buttercream or your favourite chocolate icing. Devour immediately (life’s a celebration.)

devour immediately, with great joy

Leave a Reply

