hungry girl lunch

Today I got up fairly early. I have gotten up earlier, and on a regular basis, but today was slightly different. I’d stayed at my sister’s because I had an exam today. My last.

Yay! No more uni for five weeks!

So, today I had an exam. Then I had some errands to run – tickets to pick up, spare tyres to order, you know, everyday stuff like that. (not mentioning that it’s the second spare tyre I’ve had to get in the past couple of months. Me and my car, we’ve had some ups and downs.)

ANYway, by the time I got home it was past one, and I hadn’t eaten since seven. I’d had two coffees, but coffee does not a meal make. Well, maybe breakfast sometimes. Anyhow, I had this plan to fry some eggs and eat them on toast with butter and cheese. I was so hungry and so ready to eat but then I remembered that our stove blew (it’s electric. Luckily the oven’s still ok, otherwise I’d be going stir crazy).

Anyway, I wanted eggs. And carbohydrates. And cheese. And when I thought about it, some mustard, salt and pepper, tomato wouldn’t go astray.

So, taking inspiration from The Pioneer Woman and Smitten Kitchen, I made a miniature strata for lunch.

Take a ramekin and rub it with butter. Lots of butter, if possible.

Tear up some bread (turkish bread is really nice…I used bread from the bakery0

Add some cheese and tomato.

Some more bread and cheese

Now crack two eggs in a bowl (I did one, but then added another later)

Add some dijon mustard…

Salt

and pepper

and milk

Whisk and pour over the bread

Crumble some cheese over the top and bake for about twenty-five minutes in a 180 degree oven

Try not to burn your mouth!

Leave a Reply

