happy mouth breakfast – a five am moment

This morning, I had a proper Sunday weekend breakfast.

Here’s what I did. I sauteed an onion, a couple cloves garlic, some green capsci and one very small potato in butter and olive oil. (Mmm, smell that garlic!)

Place that one aside for later.

I then used the same pan and melted some more butter, added cream and reduced it a little. I stirred in a handful of baby spinach (I heard someone kinda likes baby spinach… just a little… I’ve been CRAVING greens the whole week) and cracked an egg in, to poach for a couple of minutes. (Idea from NY Times via… someone? I can’t remember who posted about this! I feel it was a passing mention.. sorry!)

While that was going on, I made coffee, in my coffee bowl. It’s really nice to drink coffee out of a bowl, you know? Mine’s actually a ramekin I got from Spotlight. I feel it will become a large part of my future. I’m totally sitting here, sipping hot chocolate out of it RIGHT NOW.

Mmm. Chocolate.

Now put the cream sauce with spinach and poached egg in the same bowl as the ‘breakfast hash’ (thanks Joy the Baker for the idea!), add a couple spoons of yoghurt to the mix (Greek style being my favourite and a perfect accompaniment, I have to admit. I don’t think any other flavour would be right. But hey, your choice:) and when you take your first bite, don’t be surprised if you have a foodgasm.

Oh my giddy aunt.

Now, to be honest, I didn’t eat this at five am. I didn’t even get up at five am. It’s doubtful you’ll ever see me up at five am unless it’s absolutely necessary. But a five am moment is when you create your day. When you sit down to your breakfast and you are proud of what you are eating because it’s organic, local, good for you and most importantly, delicious.

I have never understood people who don’t eat breakfast. If I don’t eat breakfast, everyone within a ten metre radius knows it because my stomach announces it to the world about an hour after I’m up. A delicious breakfast is the perfect way to start the day. Most of the time, I’m in a rush and so I have a bowl of muesli (the only cereal I eat. And the only pre-made muesli I’ve bought that I’ve liked is Carman’s. Just saying.) or some toast and a coffee. And only the coffee if a)I have time and b)I know I won’t be getting coffee where I’m going. I get it free at work, see, and I figure the less I drink, the better it is for me. It’s a treat. A daily treat, yes, but a once only daily treat.

five:am yoghurt is the brand I bought most recently, and the write-up in Epicure was why. I wanted to find out more so I read this article, but the basic scoop is that five:am yoghurt is made from organic milk and comes from farms that are free from pesticides, herbicides, hormones and antibiotics. The yoghurt itself is free from gluten, gelatin, preservatives and starches and has no artificial colours, flavours, stabilisers or sweeteners.  It’s absolutely amazing. My breakfast was a party in my mouth, I’m telling you. And made all the better knowing that the owner of five:am yoghurt has a background in sustainable packaging. Yays!

Make yourself some awesome breakfast this week. If not for you, then for me. Please?

Party for One Breakfast

1 small brown onion, peeled, halved and sliced thinly

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tablespoons butter

1 side of a small greed capscicum, diced

1 small washed potato, sliced thinly

1/2 cup cream

handful washed baby spinach

1 large egg

2 tablespoons yoghurt

Saute the onion and garlic about a minute in 1 tablespoon butter. Add capsci and potato and fry about five to ten minutes, until the potato is tender.

Scoop into a bowl and set aside.

Melt remaining butter in the same pan. Add cream and simmer a few minutes, reducing the cream. Stir in spinach and crack in egg. Carefully ladle some of the cream over the top of the egg and poach about three minutes.

Slide spinach and cream with egg onto the hash mixture. Add yoghurt and enjoy.

Leave a comment